What can I do?

November 27, 2006 at 4:08 pm 2 comments

I had the great privilege of sharing a small glimpse of what I learned in Congo and about the brave and courageous Congolese women during all three services at Quest today. It is often very hard for Americans to comprehend these types of atrocities and it is common to feel paralyzed to do anything about them. Many of us go through a cycle of grief, guilt, and paralysis and then over again. I know that I do.
I believe that the Holy Spirit is the only one who can move us from paralysis to action. We must believe that prayer in itself is action. Henri Nouwen has written about peacemaking this way, “It must begin with a life of prayer, a movement from “the dwelling place” of fear and hatred and into the house of God.”
I want to simply ask that you would pray for peace to come to Congo. Pray this everyday. Allow the Holy Spirit to move you.
I do believe that prayer is the action. I also believe that we as Americans have the privilege and the responsibility to speak up and speak out against injustice. I have included some links here for ways you can write to your Congress people. In the past, I have been cynical about these mass mailings, but I believe it is like a Congolese woman told me, “Peace comes one drop of rain at a time.” So, I will continue to add my one-drop of rain and I will continue to encourage others to do the same.
If you are interested in hearing more about what is going on in Congo, please feel free to contact me, through this blog or at: unjin@seattlequest.org
Two women from my delegation were interviewed by NPR Worldview last week. You can listen to the interview here:
http://audio.wbez.org/wv/2006/11/wv_20061121b.m3u

A petition from International Rescue Committee:
http://ga3.org/campaign/drcongo_bill

Advocacy information from World Vision:
http://www.worldvision.org/donate.nsf/child_news/tawv_drcongo_20061121?Open&lid=Congo_tawv&lpos=today

Entry filed under: Congo-information.

Diary from Human Rights Watch

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica  |  November 28, 2006 at 8:19 pm

    After reading your first posting and doing some of my own research on Congo, I asked the same question you pose here. What can I do?

    As a Christ-follower, prayer immediately came to mind – we have great authority in prayer!

    Your stories served as a catalyst for our family to take action. Soon after reading your blog we started a family prayer focus at dinner each night. My 4 and 6-year old girls helped me cut out small strips of paper on which we wrote the countries of the world. One of the girls chooses a country each evening and we pray for the people and systems of that nation. We also got a globe so our kids could get some perspective on their place in the world and where the people of Pakistan, Argentina and Iraq live.

    It is precious to here children pray for other children – that they might experience peace, safety, spiritual, emotional and physical nourishment and happiness.

    Unjin, thank you for sharing your story with us! May God continue to use your experience to impact others.

  • 2. maudknight9030  |  April 9, 2016 at 7:14 am

    Em UK a poligamia u00e9 permitida, nu00e3o existe o crime de bigamia Click https://zhoutest.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


